top of page

week 1

Yesterday I took the 22 bus to Sloterdijk Station, and from there, I took a Sprinter to Lelylaand. Next to the station, there is a building that used to be a school where I have a meeting. I don't really know who is the person I'm going to meet. D. welcomes me at the entrance and we go to the second floor, where they just moved in. The building feels good, the spaces, the light. I knew very little about this place and felt comfortable immediately. Before arriving at the office we have to cross a long corridor with big windows on the right. Outside you can see part of a construction site, roads, cars, the sky. We stopped at the end of the corridor and both stood for a moment in silence looking outside. It was a short moment and I had the impression we were going to have a long conversation. We sat and talked over coffee for almost three hours. In front of me the wall was a huge window. You could see the sky divided in two parts. One part was stormy and grey with heavy clouds; the other half was much clearer, and rays of sun were passing through the clouds. The light was entering into the office, and changing with the hours. The conversation we had is kind of hard to pin down; we went from talking about unquantifiable things, to network societies, identities and the ultimate and ridiculous romantic, Trump. We also talked about intuitive thoughts, vulnerability, different forms of languages, social professionals, informática, simplicity, impact, the quality of organization, the undefined quality of sound...to finally arrive, without knowing what it is, at a quality without a name. I learned the word in Dutch, ooit, which doesn't have a direct translation into English, maybe similar to once upon a time. It's the vaguest word about time that it is still about time. Something voiced that comes from the past and the future.


bottom of page